He’s makin a list…

and checkin it twice!

Hopefully in my absence everyone has become festive and ready for the holiday season. No matter what you celebrate, if anything….this time of year is wonderful! Is chilly outside, the air is crisp, my dogs even get a little bug in their butt when they go outside! Everything is decorated so beautifully, everything smells wonderful and most of us get time off work for something or other!

 

I and my family celebrate Christmas and all its glory. We believe in Santa and reindeer and Christmas magic as well. I do not agree that Santa takes away from Jesus – he’s a completely different entity of Christmas and if you are not secure enough in your faith to celebrate Jesus and believe in Santa then I’m sorry  – you’re missing out!

We don’t even have any small children right now and yet we still write Santa a letter and leave cookies out every year!! We believe in Christmas magic and we love it! The house is covered in decorations and it’s beautiful – well except for the Griswold tree in our living room.

The tree was gorgeous on day 1 and 2 and maybe 3. Then the cat started to climb it, swat it and sleep in it. Then the dog started to remove any ornaments in his reach and eat them. Then the strands of lights slowly started to go out, 1 by 1 until only the bottom portion of the tree is lit. *sigh*  That’s the Griswold life. The half with ornaments is dark and the half without them, is lit.

With the tree thing aside, the house is beautiful and ready, we’re festive and ready, Christmas music plays, we’re all shopped out, we’ve made our lists and delivered them to Santa. We’re ready for the big man to pay us a visit.

I love to give more than to receive. The receiving part is nice but not as nice as the smiles on my loved ones faces as they peel away the paper and see what lies beneath. It’s a blessing that I can provide those smiles on their faces. I know others in our world cannot. I don’t let that go unthought on Christmas. I’m thankful. I had a Christmas wish months ago, unfortunately, Santa cannot fulfill this one for me (unless I move to 34th street by Sunday morning) but I know, with that aside, I will still have a wonderful and perfect Christmas day celebrating with my favorite people in the world!

How about you? Did you make your list, have you been good? When Santa checks, are you naughty or nice?

Leave a Reply

