Filter or no filter

I met Matt in 2003. At the time, the teenager was a cute chubby little 6yr old ball of fun. Like most children, she had no filter on her conversations. I sure did love that kid though and was quickly falling for her daddy too.

She's actually 9 in this picture..I didn't have a digital camera yet when I met her at 6yr old!

One particular day as we were all sitting around the house, that cute little squishy face asked me “When are you and my daddy gonna get married? “Was this adorable? Yes! Was it awkward as I sat there wide eyed, mouth agape trying to come up with an appropiate answer for a 7yr old? YES!!! I had only known Matt for a mere 4-5 months and I think marriage was the last thing on my mind. (His too considering we didn’t wed for 7 more years!)
I think Matt was appalled that she would even ask this question and for sure thought he would never see me again, what with my running for the hills and all. LOL!
I love kids though and have been around them my entire life and I know their minds and was in no way offended. It was awkward though! 
 
Another wonderful time with little squishy face, involved her bringing up the dreaded “ex”. Oh yes my friends, this little ball of joy brought up the ex in such a manner that it was awkward for all involved. She simply wanted to know if her daddy remembered the time they did this with “her” and it caused complete silence to ensue. I’m no silly jealous girl though and wasn’t bothered by it all. I wasn’t silly enough to think Matt had no ex’s and that this little cutie had never had another woman in her life. 
 

Me and the Teen years ago. (She made us get matching shirts!)

 
What is it about kids that cause them to say the worst things at the worst moment? We think they have no idea, but is this actually true. It seems more like they DO know exactly what they are doing and just like to see adults squirm!
All these years later that little squishy kid has grown into a beautiful teenager and guess what?? Still no filter! I cringe sometimes when we are conversing with strangers.
 
I sure do love her though with all my heart and soul, filter or no filter.
 
So tell me, do you kids have a filter? If so, how did you install it? If not, tell me about an awkward moment in time.
Like this post and follow us too!
 
 
Leave a Reply

